Archived Story

Local educators receive scholarships

Published 4:37pm Tuesday, April 29, 2014

The School Superintendents of Alabama (SSA) recently announced the educators who are recipients of SSA Administrator Scholarships for 2014.

Two of the four scholarships were awarded to local educators who are pursuing higher degrees in school administration from an in-state public college or university.

These educators are seeking their higher degrees at the M.S./M.A., AA/Ed.S., or Ed.D./Ph.D. levels.

The first of the local recipients is Deanna Hollimon, the assistant principal for Russellville Middle School in the Russellville City School System.

Hollimon plans to pursue an Education Specialist degree in Instructional Leadership at the University of North Alabama.

The second recipient is Robin Pharr, a special education/state testing/guidance coordinator in the Franklin County School System.

Pharr is currently pursuing a degree in Instructional Leadership from the University of North Alabama.

These SSA Administrative Scholarship recipients will be formally presented with their $1,000 check by their superintendent during an upcoming board meeting.

All Administrator Scholarship applications were scored by SSA’s Awards and Scholarships Committee chaired by Dr. Jeff Langham, Elmore County School Superintendent.

“The major purpose of SSA is to promote high quality public education in every community throughout the state,” said Dr. Eric Mackey, SSA Executive Director.

“These scholarships reinforce that mission by helping… our leaders go back to graduate school. We are proud of these recipients and their commitment to quality in our schools. It takes investment to make good things happen, and this is an investment we are proud to make.”

Editor's Picks