Archived Story

Getting to know your neighbor: Lorrie Cummings

Published 11:16pm Monday, October 7, 2013

Name: Lorrie Ergle Cummings

 

Hometown: Phil Campbell

 

Place of employment: Housewife

 

Q: What is the best thing about your job?

A: Before being a housewife, I worked for Cotton States Insurance for about 15 years, and meeting people was the best part of that job. I loved hearing about their life and helping them the best I could.

 

Q: If you weren’t in your current profession, what would be your ideal job and why?

A: I already do something I enjoy by being involved with the Mountain Top Homemakers Club. We help people around the county, like the residents of the nursing homes with quilts we make, the police departments with handmade bears and blankets for children that may be involved in accidents or other situations and need to feel safe, and we send our troops boxes from home so they know we haven’t forgotten them and appreciate the things they do for our country.

 

Q: If you could change places with anyone for a day, who would it be and why?

A: The Bear (Coach Paul “Bear” Bryant). I would love to just see how the game is played through his eyes.

 

Q: If you could sit down to dinner with anyone, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

A: My Lord Jesus Christ. It would be awesome. There would be so many things I would love to talk to him about that it would be hard to pick one thing.

 

Q: What’s the best present you’ve ever received?

A: My children. God blessed me with two beautiful children inside and out.

 

Q: What is your favorite childhood memory?

A: That would have to be when my brother and I would fight like cats and dogs and at the end of the day still saying “good night” and “I love you.”

 

Q: What do you think of as your greatest accomplishment in life?

A: There would have to be more than just one thing: First would be My Lord Jesus Christ forgiving me for my sins. Second would be having a great family and husband. And third would be a great church family.

 

Q: If you only had one meal left, what would it be?

A: My mother’s fried chicken, sweet potatoes, turnip greens, white cream corn and her famous corn bread.

 

Q: If you won a million dollars, what would be your first purchase?

A: A home for my mom.

 

Q: If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?

A: The homeland of Jesus. I would just love to see the ground he walked on.

 

Q: If you were the President of the United States, what would be the first law that you would enact?

A: No partial birth abortions and no same-sex marriage.

 

Q: If you were in local government, what things would you change in the area?

A: You would have to take a drug test before you could get help from the government.

 

Q: What’s your favorite thing about Franklin County?

A: I love the small town feeling, but at the same time, I would love to see more activities for our children and stores to line our small streets.

 

Q: What is something interesting about you that most people don’t know?

A: I am very shy but I love to help people.

Editor's Picks