Russellville businessman Buddy Perdue was named the Franklin County Citizen of the Year during Monday night’s annual Farm City banquet.

Archived Story

Perdue named Citizen of the Year

Published 6:05am Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Buddy Perdue knew that he was supposed to be at Monday night’s annual Farm City Banquet, but the reasons were altogether different that what he expected.
“This is not why I was told to be here,” Perdue smilingly said Monday night.
He was named the 2012 Franklin County Citizen of the Year during the annual Farm City banquet. The banquet has been held the week of Thanksgiving each year since 1955 as a way of keeping “farm” and “city” residents connected with one another and to stress the importance that agriculture plays in our daily lives.
For years, Kiwanis International was one of the coordinating agencies of the annual Farm City activities, so it was only fitting that Perdue’s nomination was made by the local Russellville Kiwanis Club.
“I started working with the Kiwanis Club six or seven years ago on the annual Watermelon Festival bike ride,” said Perdue, referring to two things that he has become well known for.
Perdue, an avid cyclist, has been the chairperson for the annual Watermelon Festival for the Franklin County Chamber of Commerce for several years.
He is a native of Muscle Shoals but has lived in Russellville since 1993. He and his wife, Kim Thompson Perdue, own and operate Thompson Draperies and Interiors. The couple attends First United Methodist Church, Russellville.
“I have grown to love Russellville and the people here and this is a very humbling honor,” Perdue said.
“It’s not something you work for, but it’s nice that people see that you have tried to help others. This was very unexpected and I am very appreciative.”
Other award winners from the Farm-City Banquet include:
• David Tidwell, Cooperator of the Year
• Heath King, Educator of the Year
• Barry Rhea, Volunteer of the Year
• Norris Sparks, Cattleman of the Year
• Ronnie Glass, Farmer of the Year
• Golden Farms, Farm Family of the Year
• Madden Farms, Farm Family of the Year
• Cultura Garden Club, Alabama Cooperative Extension System Organization of the Year
• Thomas Harbin, Alabama Cooperative Extension System Agricultural Hall of Fame
• Jarod Massey, Alabama Cooperative Extension System Agricultural Youth Development Award
Poster contest winners included:
• First place – Mia Vinson, Phil Campbell; Second place – Nicholas Hill, Belgreen; Third place – Kenia Navarrete, Belgreen; Honorable mention – Steven Campbell, West Elementary; and Emi Jimenez, Belgreen
• First place – Alexis Patterson, EFJHS; Second place – Madison Fierro, Red Bay; Third place – Maria Estrada, Belgreen; Honorable Mention – Katie Dempsey, Red Bay; Jayla Puckett, Vina; and Isaiah Oliver, EFJHS.
Essay Contest winners were: First place – Blanca Aguirre, Tharptown; Second place – Lariza Delgado, RMS; Alicia Darracott, Tharptown.

Editor's Picks